Article tools: Share:

Top Safety Awards Call For Entries

Download PDF

The Board of Directors for the Concrete Foundations Association has created a Top Safety Awards program to recognize contractors in the industry committed to maintaining safe working environments on their job sites.

In 2011, OSHA rescinded the exemption from fall protection for residential construction, including that of residential foundation construction under the belief that significant safety violations and risks plagued the industry. This program serves to establish record of the commitment to safety and the practical influence that commitment has on the workplace injury rate. The following awards are available to CFA members in these classifications:

Best Overall Safety Achievement Award: recognizes the firm with the lowest incident rate in 2016. Multiple companies with a zero Incident rate will result in the award given to the company with the highest number of annual work hours.

Most Improved Safety Achievement Award: recognizes the firm with the most improved incident rate in 2016 from numbers they submit for 2015.

Zero Lost time Accident Achievement Award: provided to all submitting companies who achieved an incident rate of zero for 2016.

Certificate of Recognition: awarded to all companies whose incident rate fell below the national average for residential foundation contractors, a number made available by the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Submissions are required at CFA Headquarters by June 2, 2017. All entries must be signed by person submitting the form and the owner, president or CEO, or risk disqualification. Winners will be announced at CFA Convention 2017 in Nashville, TN on July 22, 2017 during the Awards Gala. Contractors with a fatality in 2016 are ineligible for an award but should submit for purpose of record.

Submitting information for the annual Safety Program Awards is a relatively easy process. Each company submits the Incident Rate information directly from their OSHA logs using the quick form CFA provides. This, along with information about the type of program you offer and the ways you deliver it round out the picture of your company’s attention to detail for consideration. The CFA recognizes contractors according to three different types of concrete market as well as three different sizes of company within each market.

Download submission form by going to the Recognition tab at CFA’s website or directly at

2016 winners…


  • CUSTOM CONCRETE COMPANY, INC. – All Concrete Contractor, > 250k work hours
  • STEPHENS & SMITH CONSTRUCTION CO., INC., – Turn Key Contractor, > 250k work hours
  • THE BARTLEY CORP. – All Concrete Contractor, 100k to 250k work hours
  • WALRITE, LLC. – Residential Foundation Contractor, < 100k work hours
  • SOLID CONCRETE WALLS, INC. – Residential Foundation Contractor, 100k to 250k work hours
  • MICHEL CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION – All Concrete Contractor, < 100k work hours





Who will win in 2017?…..Entries due by June 2

Leave A Comment

Get Connected

Like us on Facebook Connect with us on Concrete Foundations CFA Members Connect with us on CFA Members


About Us

Concrete FACTS, a publication of the Concrete Foundations Association, is THE voice for residential concrete industry news, market intelligence, business strategies, technical solutions, product information, and other resources for professionals in the cast-in-place concrete industry. Subscriptions to Concrete FACTS is available to anyone involved or interested in the residential concrete industry as a service to your industry. Please contact CFA Headquarters to find out more about your free subscription or Email Us